jump to navigation

TJ Faves: Veggie & Flaxseed Tortilla Chips August 5, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town, Food, Shopping.
trackback

Usually I’m a Tostitos Scoops or Hint of Lime fan, then I came across these at Trader Joe’s. They’re so good, you can even eat them plain. Each bag contains three flavor combinations: carrot & tomato, spinach & garlic, and beet & onion. The bags in our house typically run low on the green chips first, mainly because I love the spinach & garlic combo. They are fully vegan and gluten-free…and low in calories and fat. More than a girl could ask for in a chip.

I find that they pair nicely with this Corn & Black Bean Salsa recipe which my friend, Jenny, shared with me oh so long ago!

Corn & Black Bean Salsa
1 (15-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 cup can corn kernels
1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
8 green onions, sliced
3 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon salt

Combine all of the above ingredients in a large bowl and refrigerate. Tastes best when allowed to sit overnight.

Comments»

1. SoccerGirl - August 5, 2008

I must agree these are quite tasty after sampling them this weekend. BTW, love the new quote of the week, Yah!

2. Joe B - August 6, 2008

Hi – If you like healthy Tortilla chips you might like ours; I work at a company called Corazonas; our chips actually help lower your cholesterol and taste great – I thought you might be interested in checking us out http://www.corazonas.com – I’m sorry if this comes off as solicitation; feel free to delete my comment if so! We’re pretty small still and just getting the word out! Thanks – Joe B

3. smooregasbord - August 6, 2008

Hey Joe – thanks for stopping by! I love hearing about and trying new products! I’ll have to make a trip to Safeway to grab a bag of Corazonas. The Maragarita Lime tortilla chips sound delicious.

Have you considered expanding to Harris Teeter? We typically do our grocery shopping there and they seem to offer a great variety of products.

4. sonrie - August 7, 2008

These are my favorite chips, too!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

