jump to navigation

Closing the Gap October 24, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Fashion, Shopping.
trackback

If you’re like me, then you probably have a problem with the waistband on your pants gapping at the back.  It’s a tug-o’-war match between me and my jeans, and the jeans usually win.  I’m always challenged when shopping for pants…not only do I have to find shorter lengths, but I also have to find pants that fit my waist without half of my crack hanging out!! Several companies (Gap and Lee are two of them) are trying to help us ladies out by changing the cut of some jeans/pants. Gap’s “curvy” cut and Lee’s “no gap” waistband are supposed to eliminate that extra space you find at the back of your pants. That’s great for any new britches you’re purchasing; however, what are you supposed to do with the pants you already own.  Well, you can shell out the cash to get each pair altered which, when done properly, can run anywhere from $10-20 a pair. OR you can look into getting an isABelt. isABelt is a thin clear belt that can help eliminate the gap in your waistband. The nice thing is that it won’t add the unsightly bulge in the front of your waistband that other belts typically create. I think I may take the $16 plunge to purchase one and try it out. It comes in sizes S, M, L, plus, and junior sizes. They also offer a pink-ribbon version which is the perfect pink purchase during October (Breast Cancer Awareness Month) and the proceeds go to the Susan G. Komen Foundation.

Comments»

1. Tiffany - October 25, 2008

The gap is a major problem for me too! I’m so glad you wrote about this. I do like the short jeans from the Gap, though it irritates me that they don’t have short jeans in the smaller sizes (because most people who are size 0 and 2 are tall, right?). I may have to splurge on the belt you mention too. It sounds like the perfect product for me.

2. smooregasbord - October 25, 2008

I like pants from the Gap, but I always laugh at what they call “ankle” length. Sometimes they can be so long that I’m like, “Exactly who’s ankle are they measuring?!” As for my jeans, I’ve become a fan of Lucky Brand. They’re a bit pricey, but usually you can get a good deal around the holidays, so I stock up!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

