jump to navigation

Away We Go June 18, 2009

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town, TV/Movies.
trackback

away_we_goOne of my girlfriends got several passes to go see the movie Away We Go, so we had a little girls’ night out. I read several reviews in Us Weekly and People that had only given it 2 stars. Opinions vary, so last week we all headed to the theater to see if this movie was all it was cracked up to be…or not.

On a scale of 1 to 5, I give it a 5 all the way.  It was a complete laugh riot! So much so that half way through the film I leaned over to Nicole and said, “No more laughing, my face is starting to hurt!” They couldn’t have picked a better cast.  While the scene with Allison Janney’s character (Lily) provided for belly-aching laughter, the scene where they have dinner with Maggie Gyllenhaal’s character (LN) was by far the most hilarious in the entire movie! If you’re looking for a great date night movie, I highly suggest this flick…it’s equally funny for both guys and gals.

Note: If you’re at all Prudence McPrude like myself, then the opening scene will have you covering your eyes and blushing like a twelve year old girl. Just a warning.

Comments»

1. Adrienne - July 27, 2009

Hi Susan. If you liked this film, then you should go see (500) Days of Summer which is also currently playing at E Street. Great story, great soundtrack.. and I hope people get out to see it. I loved everything about both these films. Btw, (500) Days of Summer is by no means a chick flick, but it is a story about love. Guys will definitely like it too.

2. smooregasbord - July 31, 2009

(500) Days of Summer is at the TOP of my list. I’m glad to hear you confirm that it is not a chick flick. Casey was kind of holding back on me about going to see it, but now I can probably convince him. I’m also glad to hear that it has an awesome soundtrack. After seeing Away We Go, I went home immediately and downloaded the soundtrack. It’s just so mellow. Thanks for the awesome review. Hopefully, we’ll go see it this weekend!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

