jump to navigation

Diary of a Travel Guide Junkie: Vol. I September 4, 2007

Posted by smooregasbord in Food, Travel.
trackback

I love travel guides. When we go on trips, I’m always the designated tour guide. As such, I rely on a multitude of travel guides with Frommer’s being my fave! I always try to read up on all the good restaurants and sites to visit. I also try to chat with the locals to find out about those places that are off the beaten path. I found out about the USS Midway and the Scripps Birch Aquarium through my San Diego Top Ten guide.

USS Midway
Above: View of the Coronado Bridge from the USS Midway

Shark
Above: Swallowed by a shark at the Scripps Birch Aquarium

Both were very fun visits and well worth the time!

Everyone says that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and I would say that San Diegans rank it pretty high too. Never have I eaten at so many awesome b’fast joints! We hit up a couple of places in La Jolla: The Cottage and Brockton Villa. The Cottage has the most incredible granola ever and it’s made fresh on site! You can order it from their website if you can stomach the $13 price tag plus s+h. Over at Brockton Villa, I enjoyed the Tower of Bagel which is a toasted sesame bagel stacked high with cream cheese, fresh lox, capers, tomato slices, and red onion. It was delicious, but a definite breath-buster!! We hit up The Mission in Pacific Beach. I enjoyed blackberry banana pancakes while Casey chomped down on their blueberry cornmeal cakes. We also visited Cafe 222 in downtown San Diego. They are known for their pumpkin waffle which was featured in Gourmet magazine and I can attest to its yumminess. In addition, the chef there did a special on Food Network with Bobby Flay featuring their peanut butter and banana stuffed french toast. Casey is a french toast junkie and he said that it was pretty darn tasty. Also, how can you go wrong with a place that serves Spam!!

Comments»

1. Gretch - September 5, 2007

Glad ya’ll had a good time!

2. Scott - June 29, 2008

Hey,

This was a great read.
Thanks for the info that you have put up in this post.

Cheers


Leave a Reply

