jump to navigation

The Day the Mouse Died September 18, 2007

Posted by smooregasbord in Food, Gadgets, General, Work.
trackback

I’m not a big fan of Mondays, but they seem to come around every week. Yesterday was no exception.

I’ve been experiencing neck and back aches recently, so I’ve been investigating my (lack of) ergonomic implementations. The office is usually a good place to begin such an investigation. My computer used to sit at the corner of my desk requiring me to twist like a pretzel to type, etc. Yesterday I came in and did some rearrangment of my desk including moving my monitor, phone, keyboard, and mouse. I was quite pround of the new setup.

Over the weekend, I also purchased some new coffee. Bucks County Coffee Co. has a seasonal flavor called Banana Split: coffee flavored with banana and caramel, sorry, I just couldn’t resist. So yesterday morning I made myself a cup to bring to work. I had this really awesome Oxo travel mug that was insulated and spill proof. I’ve used it so much that that is no longer the case, so I’ve resorted to using a multitude of other crappy travel mugs that we have in our cabinets. Yesterday, I used the MiGo travel mug that we purchased at Target. It’s insulated, but not spill proof. It’s also a little tall and awkward.

Now to bring these three items (Mondays, desk rearrangement, and travel mug) together. So I’m sitting at my newly arranged desk enjoying my delicious Banana Split coffee in a non-spill proof mug and suddenly make a clumsy Monday morning move and spill coffee all over my mouse and part of my keyboard. The coffee on the keyboard wasn’t so bad. I was able to soak up the small amount with a paper towel. However, the mouse died. I tried using an altered paper clip as a makeshift phillips head screwdriver to take the mouse apart to perform any necessary resuscitation, but to no avail. I eventually gathered up the nerve to tell our IT guy who was nice enough to replace the mouse with only minor snickering involved.

RIP, little mouse.
Time of Death: 10:35 am, 9.17.07

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

