jump to navigation

Let’s Do Brunch November 16, 2007

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town, Food.
trackback

Our bible study group is having a potluck brunch tomorrow morning and I was torn about what to bring. I have created a DIY cookbook binder which is an accumulation of my favorite recipes found in magazines, on the internet, through friends and family. Thank goodness for my slight OCD because all of my recipes are organized by category. (Somebody please tell me to GET A LIFE!) I flipped to the breakfast/brunch category and began my search. Casey and I love breakfast food, so it was difficult to narrow it down to one or two recipes. Finally I decided on a Crab Quiche.

Crab Quiche

INGREDIENTS
• 1 pastry shell (9 inch), partially baked
• 1 tablespoon butter
• 2 tablespoons shallots, minced
• 1 cup crabmeat
• 1 tablespoon flour
• 1 1/2 cups Swiss cheese, shredded/divided
• 3 eggs
• 1 cup half and half
• 1/2 teaspoon salt
• dash white pepper or hot pepper sauce

PREPARATION
Have a 9-inch pastry shell partially baked. Saute shallots in butter until tender, about 2 minutes; mix with crabmeat and flour; set aside. Sprinkle 3/4 cup the cheese in the pie shell, then spread with crab mixture. Sprinkle with remaining 3/4 cup of cheese. Beat eggs, cream, salt, pepper, and nutmeg until mixed. Pour into shell. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes at 400°F. Serves 6 to 8.

In addition, I was visiting Everybody Likes Sandwiches and came across a recipe for apple cheddar yogurt muffins which I will also be adding to the potluck.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

