jump to navigation

Holiday Rants and Raves November 26, 2007

Posted by smooregasbord in Family/Home, Food, General, Running, Shopping, Travel.
trackback

I apologize for the lack of posts, but between traveling and sickness, I’ve been short on time. We’ll start with the rants because it’s always better to get the bad stuff out of the way.

Traveling down South last week wasn’t as bad as previous years and that may be due to the fact that we left at 6:30 in the AM! However, I would like to say that the number of State Patrol on the highways may have caused more harm than good. I’m a fan of the law. I typically follow the law (albeit I have been known to drive as though I-95 were a speedway)! But, NC State Patrol, c’mon. Everyone knows that there are certain times that are off limits for running radar: 1) prior to 1 pm on a Sunday because should you really impend on someone getting to church and 2) Thanksgiving and Christmas. When you have a state patrol car running radar every 5 – 8 miles, empty patrol cars parked on the side of the road, and patrol cars flying up from behind with lights on and no siren, is that really making our roads safer. I can definitely tell you what it causes: BRAKES! The typical reaction at the sight of police: BRAKES! I have never seen so many cars riding, tapping, slamming on brakes. It was ridiculous.

Thursday I enjoyed two very delicious Thanksgiving meals and then contracted a stomach virus and disposed of two very delicious Thanksgiving meals. NUF SAID. By Saturday, I was feeling pretty much back to normal and then that night started coming down with either sinusitis or a cold…more than likely, a cold. So I feel like crap; however, I did make a wonderful discovery. Did you know that Puffs makes tissues with lotion and Vicks built right in? Thank you Puffs for making my nose blowing a more mentholated experience!

I did make a pit stop by my favorite running store, Run In, located in Greenville. The owner, Jeff Milliman, is a RUNNING GENIUS! He just knows how to fit you in a pair of great running shoes…and he stands behind everything. With one look at your feet, he can tell you what size shoe you wear and how to take care of all of those pesky foot issues runners typically deal with. He wants everyone to have an enjoyable running experience. I got a new pair of running shoes and some winter apparel.

Also, I thought I would mention a few good dining spots in Greenville:
You can’t go wrong eating at The Carolina Drive-In on Buncombe Road. Nick, the owner, is a Wofford grad (which makes him awesome right off the bat) and is just a great guy all around! I’ve eaten there since I can remember and they have the best sweet tea in the state of SC! You also can’t beat their chili-cheese burger!

Check out The Bohemian for dinner. My parents eat there all the time and their food is unique and delicious. Their hummus and olives appetizer is wonderful! You should also ask for their macaroni and cheese (since it’s not on the menu)….a twist in that it’s made with blue cheese. If you order the Bohemian Burger, be sure to ask for the green derby cheese!

New for all of us was the Liberty Tap Room which is situated next to the new Greenville Drive stadium in West End. We tried their brunch menu on Sunday and it was pleasing and surprisingly affordable. The Crab Cake Benedict was good, but I wasn’t a huge fan of their hollandaise. My dad loved their Breakfast Wrap, my mom snacked on their enormous Rise and Shine Pizza, and Casey enjoyed their Bananas Foster French Toast.

LAST BUT CERTAINLY NOT LEAST, I have to give a big cheer for those Wofford Terriers who defeated the Montana Grizzlies 23-22 on Saturday in the first round of the NCAA FCS Playoffs. Wofford will play the Richmond Spiders this Saturday at Gibbs Stadium in Round 2. GO TERRIERS!

Comments»

1. Sarah - December 1, 2007

Thanks for the heads up on the Puffs, as I am currently under the weather they have also made my nose blowing a better experience!

2. smooregasbord - December 1, 2007

Sorry you’re feeling under the weather, but those Puffs are the stuff.


Leave a Reply

