jump to navigation

Sweat Converter November 29, 2007

Posted by smooregasbord in Fashion, Running, Shopping.
trackback

As previously mentioned, I am currently training for the ING Miami Half Marathon. While the weather in Miami in January will be quite pleasant, the training weather in DC in December will probably be cold with a potential for snow and did I mention cold. I usually tell people that I’m a fairweather runner. When the weather is nice, I run outside. When the weather is not so nice, I run on the treadmill at the gym. Don’t get me wrong, a treadmill serves a wonderful purpose. However, I get bored enough running outside for long distances, I don’t want to be stuck “running in place” for five or six or ten miles! Not to mention that training for a road race on a treadmill is not the best. But what about the cold? I hate to be cold.

Last weekend when I was visiting Run In, I was introduced to a new technology in running clothes: Mizuno’s Breath Thermo. Breath Thermo is a new technology that Mizuno has developed that takes the sweat generated by your body, absorbs it, and turns it into heat. Sounds crazy, I know, but it works. Bea, at Run In, placed a piece of Breath Thermo fabric in my hand, soaked it with water, and told me to close my hand. Immediately I began to feel heat coming from the fibers and my hand was completely dry. I’ll take one! So for Christmas I’ll be getting a Breath Thermo Stretch 1/2 Zip. The cool thing is that they also make socks, gloves, headbands/hats, and running tights.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

