jump to navigation

Winter Flakes December 10, 2007

Posted by smooregasbord in Beauty, Shopping.
trackback

…and, no, I don’t mean snowflakes!

I love winter for a multitude of reasons: mosquitos are no longer around, the possibility of seeing snow, the wonderful holidays, wearing cashmere, etc.
I hate winter for only one reason: dry skin.

The cold, dry weather of winter is torture for my skin. No amount of lotion can seem to cure the itchy, dry flakiness…unless you’re using the right lotion. For me and my body, the only thing that brings me any relief is Nature’s Gate Papaya Lotion. It smells like an island and relieves the itching that winter brings on. It’s a little pricey if you’re used to using a product like Curel (which I do during the summer months), but well worth it. I’m sure that Casey would agree seeing as how it keeps me from nagging him with the comment, “Please scratch my back. No. Higher. Lower. Move left. Now right.”, every five minutes!

Since moving to the DC area, the cold weather seems to be affecting my face a lot more. Outside you’re exposed to cold, dry air and inside you’re exposed to hot, dry air. Now my facial skin is screaming and breaking out. The slightest bit of concealer looks like a flesh-colored flake. I’ve used the same moisturizer on my face since I first put moisturizer on my face: Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion. You know, the yellow stuff. I’m always hesitant to try new things because of the fear of breaking out, but since I’ve already reached that point, I figured what the heck. So, of course, I headed to Sephora…seller of all things beauty!

I rubbed about 15 different facial moisturizers on my hand. This one’s too thin. This one’s too greasy. This one’s too smelly. Finally, I reached the Philosophy line. I’ve heard great things about their products. Heck, my mom’s even a fan! I’ve loved using their 3-in-1 shampoo, shower gel, bubble bath in various fragrances, but that’s about it. However, I tried a dab of the Hope in a Jar for dry, sensitive skin and fell instantly in love. I have used it twice a day for the last few days and can definitely see and feel a difference. 

This will definitely be a brand that I will look to in the future for those screaming skin needs!!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

