jump to navigation

Diary of a Travel Guide Junkie: Let’s Talk Breakfast January 13, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Food, Travel.
trackback

Everyone knows that the first meal of the day is the most important one.  That it shouldn’t be missed.  That it’s your energizer bunny. That it involves massive amounts of coffee.

When traveling, I’m mostly known for grabbing a Starbucks drink and breakfast sandwich. However, when in a place as wonderful as Hawaii, you’ve got to step it up a notch.

In addition to my Frommer’s guide, and at the request of a native Hawaiian coworker, I also purchased the O’ahu Revealed travel guide. It’s breakfast pick was Wailana Coffee House (WCH) and was conveniently located next door to our hotel. They don’t have a website, but a good local review can be found here. This is a 24-hour restaurant with quick, friendly service and good food. Coffee is always a must and WCH had quite tasty coffee for a diner.  (Side-note: This was before our taste buds were spoiled by the deliciousness of Rusty’s Hawaiian.)  Casey opted for the Portuguese sweet bread extraordinary. I don’t really know how to describe it except as a variation on french toast which he adores. I went with the pineapple pancakes. The waitress placed three varieties of syrup on our table: maple, boysenberry, and coconut. I’ll give you one guess as to which one I chose. The coconut syrup looked weird like a milky, gooey white, but the taste was exquisite…not too sweet, a perfect compliment to the pineapple. Of course, when in Hawaii, one must eat spam. I requested a side order, but what came out looked unfamiliar to my southern upbringing. What I know as spam is a rectangle, but what sat before me was a circle. Huh?! I tasted this mystery meat and it certainly didn’t taste like spam. I asked the waitress what it was and she replied, “Portuguese sausage.” She accidentally brought me the wrong thing, but it was a new experience with food. I can’t really describe it. It was very spicy. It was different. All in all an excellent meal for a low price.

Frommer’s suggested Eggs ‘n Things as a great breakfast spot. Even with the large crowd congregated outside, we were able to get seated in about five to ten minutes. They have a fairly large list of daily specials and a variety of fresh juice. Casey ordered an enormous ham and cheese omelet with a side of pancakes. He claimed it was a three egg omelet, but the size suggested something else (I’m thinking six eggs)! I went with fresh banana crepes which were very light and delicious. I was longing for a douse of the coconut syrup to go along with them, but opted for what I think was a strawberry syrup. Regardless, the two flavors combined nicely. In the end, I finally got my spam which I devoured with artery clogging pride!

Comments»

1. Lorie Obra - January 13, 2008

My Goodness!!! That’s my coffee you mentioned, RUSTY’S HAWAIIAN. I grow, process, roast, package and sell.
Everything is processed by me so I know what’s in there.

It is grown in a 12 acre farm here in a little town of Pahala in the Big Island of Hawaii. Website is not up yet but you can contact me at my e-mail address, lorie_o@earthlink.net or (808) 928-8916. I do take mail orders. I only roast the
coffee when I get the order to keep the freshness and high quality.

Mahalo ( thank you) for the heads up on my coffee.

Lorie obra
RUSTY’S HAWAIIAN
100% KA’U COFFEE
P.O. BOX 845
PAHALA, HI 96777
(808) 928-8916
lorie_o@earthlink.net

2. smooregasbord - January 13, 2008

Lorie, thanks for stopping by and leaving your contact information! Your coffee is certainly a gem, and we look forward to ordering more and enjoying it with friends and family.

3. Eric Stern - January 16, 2008

Susan;

I’m enjoying your blog site more every time I visit it. I think you’re on to something. Keep up the awesome commentary.

Your Pal,
Eric


Leave a Reply

