jump to navigation

Feeling the Burn January 30, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Running.
trackback

This past weekend was the ING Miami Marathon, and boy are we feeling the burn! We had a great time and got great times!

Casey = 4:54:48 (full marathon)
Joy = 4:51:14 (full marathon)
Brett = 2:28:55 (half marathon)
Susan = 2:28:56 (half marathon)

2008 Miami MedalThe course was nice and flat, and the weather was perfect. The race was very well organized from the expo to the shuttles to the aid stations, etc. Now that I’ve completed my first half marathon, I have a deeper appreciation for those individuals who ran the full marathon. I also came to the conclusion that I NEVER EVER want to do a full marathon! By the way, the finisher medals were pretty snazzy! Once race pictures are posted, I’ll be sure to share them with you.

I also have to give a plug for Cytomax Energy Gels. Our running guru at Run-In in Greenville, SC, recommended this particular energy gel over everything else citing how easy it is on the stomach (I had a bad experience with Clif Shot Bloks once).  I was feeling my tummy grumble around mile 5.5 (of course, the smell of bacon and eggs cooking at some of the local cafes we ran by didn’t help).  I took half the packet at mile 5.5 and the other half around mile 8 and, without a doubt, it gave me the boost I needed to push through to the finish. I have only used the vanilla flavor which tastes pretty good and more like pina colada than vanilla, but they also make orange flavor.

Now, what’s next on the list? San Francisco or Las Vegas. Two of my favorite cities. A half marathon makes a good excuse for a little getaway!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

