jump to navigation

Totally Lunar, Dude February 1, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in General.
trackback

In college, I took an astronomy course. It was in this course that I first became familiar with the leonids. I remember that for extra credit we got a group together to go out and see the leonids. We had to get up at like 3 a.m. to go see them. We carried blankets and sprawled out on the football field to watch the meteor shower. Sounds nerdy, right? Well, it was, but I will remember that experience forever…and we laugh about it to this day!

Something else “astronomical” is coming up very soon. There will be a total lunar eclipse on February 21, 2008. Well, actually for those living on the east coast, it will happen on February 20th at 10:26 p.m. There won’t be another total lunar eclipse until December 2010. Take a blanket, sit outside, and watch the lunar eclipse. If you’re with the right bunch, it will be totally lunar!!

I know, I win Nerd of the Year!

Comments»

1. Sarah - February 1, 2008

If you’re nerd of the year I’m right there with you since I was in that lucky group of friends. I’ll never forget good ol’ Mr. Mahaffey, thanks for bringing back such a fond memory and giving me a little laugh today!


Leave a Reply

