jump to navigation

Have Our Dinner and Fondue, Too February 14, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town, Food.
trackback

Since we’ve been married, Casey and I have ALWAYS gone to the Melting Pot for dinner on Valentine’s Day. We’ve made it our tradition and love it. I called a month ago to make reservations for this V-Day and there was only one spot available at 10 pm. I don’t know about you, but gorging myself on fondue at 10 pm is not my idea of fun or romance! So I have decided to make V-Day dinner at home, and we’ll enjoy the Melting Pot on Friday night instead. It actually works in our favor since traffic is ususally a nightmare on V-Day.

Hmmm. What to make for dinner? I wanted to do something delicious, yet easy. So I saw this recipe for Shrimp and Grits in Southern Living’s February issue and thought that I would give it a whirl. It’s fairly simple and quite simply what we consider good comfort food. A meal of Shrimp and Grits tends to conjure fond memories for the both of us. I’ll pair it with a simple salad and glass of wine. Now on to dessert. We’re going to have Chocolate Pots de Creme based on a recipe from Rachael Ray. I’ve made these before and they are quite easy and very, very good. I know that true foodies will frown on this, but I don’t make my own whip cream, I just use the store bought kind. Then I sprinkle each cup with a few raspberries.

Sounds like the perfect dinner…at least for us, anyway!
Happy Valentine’s Day!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

