jump to navigation

My Heart’s Delight February 25, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town, Food.
trackback

Cheesetique was having a grand opening of their new location this past weekend…two doors down from their old location. Their new location offers quite a bit of additional space including maximized space for their tastings. Note: You need to sign up for their newsletter to get additional details about their events/classes.

After getting our fill of Banana Pudding custard over at The Dairy Godmother, we popped into Cheesetique to check out their new diggs and get a few wedges of cheese. We walked away with two delightful cheeses: Truffle Tremor and Whiskey Cheddar. Truffle Tremor is produced by Cypress Grove Chevre based in California. It’s a blend of two of my favorite things: goat cheese and truffles. It just doesn’t get any better than this combo. It has a soft, creamy texture slightly similar to brie, and the taste is amazing. Casey’s not a big soft cheese fan, so it didn’t rank as high on his list. You know what I have to say about that…more for me!!! Their website suggests pairing it with mashed potatoes which sounds like something I could really get into or maybe blending it with a lobster risotto for the ultimate luxurious dish.

The second cheese, Whiskey Cheddar, takes a Farmhouse Cheddar and blends it with a single malt scotch whiskey. The flavor is unique and decadent. From the second I put this cheese in my mouth, I was already thinking of how delicious it would be in a mac & cheese dish.

I noticed that they also had a Chimay cheese which certainly peaked Casey’s interest. Here’s the thing about Cheesetique, you want to buy everything! However, you can only eat so much cheese at one time and it’s hard to pace yourself with the purchasing as you linger in front of those glass cases.

On a side note, we also noticed that a new butcher shop, Let’s Meat on the Avenue, is opening up in Cheesetique’s old space.
Check out additional coverage for Cheesetique and the butcher shop over at The Houndstooth Gourmet!

Comments»

1. houndstooth1 - February 25, 2008

I got the Farmhouse Cheddar on Sunday. I know it is so hard to not buy a whole bunch of cheese there. At least I didn’t buy a triple cream cheese again (my thighs told me not to)!

2. smooregasbord - February 25, 2008

I have come to accept that there are just some things in life that you have to give in to no matter what the calorie or fat count…cheese is at the top of that list!


Leave a Reply

