jump to navigation

Sugar and Spice and Everything Nice March 18, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Food, General.
trackback

Well, I’m focusing mainly on the sugar. Last month, I saw a story on GMA that talked about how your body processes artificial sugar. Most people use artificial sugar (sugar substitutes) for the purpose of maintaining a healthy weight. It gives them the opportunity to enjoy sweets without the weight gain. This study, however, contradicts that popular belief.

“In the Purdue study, the rats whose diets contained artificial sweeteners appeared to experience a physiological connection between sweet tastes and calories, which drove them to overeat. ‘The taste buds taste sweet, but there’s no calorie load that comes with it. There’s a mismatch here. It seems it changes your brain chemistry in some way,’ Savard said. ‘Anything you put in your mouth, your body has a strong reaction to it. It’s much more than counting calories. It seems normally with sweet foods that we rev up our metabolism.’”

In light of this study, I’ve been trying to avoid artificial sweeteners. Do you know how hard that is?! It’s in EVERYTHING.

This past weekend we were at Barnes & Noble and I was flipping through an issue of Body+Soul magazine. I came across an interesting article discussing the best sugar substitutes. They reviewed five various sugar substitutes: agave nectar, brown rice syrup, erythritol, maple syrup, and stevia. They provide you with pros, cons, and uses for each substitute. I’m interested to give a few of these a try especially using the guidelines provided in this article. Erythritol is at the top of my list for experimentation, but be sure to keep it under 20 teaspoons a day…or else!

Comments»

1. houndstooth1 - March 19, 2008

This is really great to know. My husband and I are trying our best to kick the diet soda habit.
I switched to Club Soda but guess what? It’s got a significant amount of sodium! So, now I’m doing Seltzer and lemon which really hits the spot.
I’m thinking of getting a Seltzer maker….

2. smooregasbord - March 19, 2008

I checked one out over at sodaclubusa.com and they look pretty cool. I wasn’t so sure about the flavor mix-ins.


Leave a Reply

