jump to navigation

Hip, Hip, Fa-yeh March 26, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Food.
trackback

MykonosI like yogurt. It’s low in fat and good for you. It provides you with a high dose of calcium, Vitamin D, and probiotics. I’m typically a Yoplait gal. The consistency is to my liking and the flavors are dee-lish! However, I’ve been attempting to eat more natural sugars, so to find those options you obviously head to Whole Foods.  This is where I was first introduced to another variation in yogurt, Skyr, which is actually a cheese and not a yogurt. It’s still found in the yogurt section of the store, so call it what you will. It comes to us from Iceland. The consistency and taste is more like pudding, and I’m partial to the vanilla flavor with a few blueberries and homemade granola thrown in. Plus, it comes with its own little collapsible spoon making it too cute to resist. In an attempt to purchase a few containers of Skyr, I found that they were sold out, so I had to opt for yet another alternative. This time I went with the Fage (pronounced fa-yeh). Fage is a greek yogurt and actually tastes more like sour cream. The cool thing about Fage is that you can get it with a honey pot or a fruit pot attached. Sounds crazy, I know, but the taste is really something.  It ends up as the perfect combination of sweet and sour.  My fave is the Fage 2% with honey, but I’ve been known to settle for the 2% strawberry or cherry. Now if I can just make it to the Mykonos.

Comments»

1. houndstooth1 - March 26, 2008

I adore Fage, and really should be eating more of it to get my calcium. I first had it at Bread and Chocolate and it came with honey, walnuts and fresh berries It was something so surprising to me who thought yogurt was something I forced myself to eat as diet food! Back in my fruit on the bottom days.

2. SoccerGirl - March 27, 2008

I too have tried the Greek style yogurt, and you definitely need that little bit of honey or something sweet to go with it. I I bought some that was vanilla and ended up topping it with some strawberry preserves because it was still too sour for me.

3. smooregasbord - March 27, 2008

I know they make one that comes with honey AND walnuts, but I haven’t seen it in the stores.

4. smooregasbord - March 27, 2008

Sorry the vanilla wasn’t so hot on it’s own, but the strawberry preserves with it sounds like a tasty alternative.


Leave a Reply

