jump to navigation

Things I Learned in Warner Robins April 18, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in General, Travel.
trackback

I am not a huge fan of change, so it’s not hard to believe that I would dislike being away from home for two weeks for work.  If you know me, then you also know that I have officially become “city-fied” and, therefore, don’t like towns where there isn’t a Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or large shopping mall!  With that being said, there are a few things I did enjoy about Warner Robins, GA.

1.  McDonalds.  Say what?! I know that sounds ridiculous, but when you eat out for three meals a day and the menus pretty much consist of fried items and sweet tea, anything healthy is refreshing.  So I guess you’re wondering why I would put McDonalds down.  Well, I never eat at McD’s anymore…mainly because I can’t resist a quarter pounder and fries.  There was one located right across from our hotel, so after perusing the nutrition facts on their website, I ventured over.  One night I had the Asian Chicken Salad with Newman’s Own Lowfat Sesame Ginger dressing and a fruit & yogurt parfait. Total damage = 550 calories. On a different night I had the Southwest Chicken Salad with Newman’s Own Creamy Southwest dressing and a fruit & yogurt parfait. Total damage = 580 calories. That’s not too shabby. You can use their Bag a McMeal feature to calculate calories and other nutrition info. Oh, and the taste is phenomenal. I didn’t know McD’s could make such great salads. I will say that the Southwest salad was my favorite!

2. Wilson’s Bakery. This place doesn’t make a bad anything. Krispy Kreme and Dunkin Donuts can’t hold a candle to the freshness of the goodies prepared at Wilson’s. From their famous finger nut cookies to the maple pastry and apple fritters, everything is a favorite from this place.

3. McCall’s Tastes to Remember. This local sandwich shop serves up the best Hot Ham & Swiss that I’ve ever eaten. Not to mention, they have a selection of fresh homemade soups everyday…I’m partial to the Tomato Florentine. The creme de la creme of this eatery is their desserts with banana pudding cake and pina colada cake topping the list…as good as any cake your granny can fix up.

4. Ole Times Country Buffet. This is a place that my grandpa would love. All you can eat fatback, catfish, veggies, ho’cakes, oh, and banana pudding. I love eating here, but only once, otherwise a tow truck would have to bring me back to VA. They have THE BEST mac & cheese, fried okra, and cabbage.

5. Sweet tea. It’s everywhere. It’s hard for me to resist. And it’s limited availability in the mid-atlantic region is probably the reason why I’m not five pounds heavier.

6. Gold Cup Bowling Center. I love to go bowling and WR has the ultimate bowling alley. It’s huge, it’s new, it’s clean, and it’s smoke-free. I want to shrink it to Polly Pocket size and bring it back to VA.

7. The cleanest and most orderly Super Walmart and Target on the planet. Seems like an oxymoron, I know, but it pretty much elicits a “wow” reaction every time I walk through the doors.

8. Chuck Norris quotes.  I didn’t know Chuck still had such a following besides those individuals who use Total Gym and watch Walker, Texas Ranger.  I’ll share more on that later.

9. …and saving the best for last. It was nice spending time with old friends that I worked with in Atlanta and making new friends!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

