jump to navigation

Diary of a Travel Guide Junkie: Charleston, SC April 23, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Food, Running, Travel.
trackback

Better late than never, right?! A couple of weeks ago we headed to Charleston, SC, to run the Cooper River Bridge Run. It was a nice weekend getaway before officially heading out of town for work. I have always enjoyed Charleston, but this year it felt a little different. It just seemed too crowded. While that part was disappointing, one arena in which Charleston doesn’t disappoint is the food.

We hit up Jestine’s Kitchen for dinner on Friday night. This is a restaurant with no website and no reservations…just country cooking and blue plate specials. I tried the glazed ham with a side of collards and mac & cheese and, you know me, I couldn’t pass up on a glass of sweet tea.

On Saturday, following the race, we headed to Virginia’s on King to meet some friends for lunch. I would have to rank Virginia’s way high on my list. Upon being seated, we were offered bite-size pieces of their broccoli cornbread. Ok, really. I just ran 6.2 miles, must you torture me with this miniature morsel of deliciousness. We tried two of their appetizers: fried pickles served with remoulade and fried okra with spicy aioli. The okra was pretty tasty, the fried pickles (aka frickles) were just ok (my taste buds have been spoiled by the frickles served up at Del Merei’s). Moving on to the entrees. I can’t pass up on pimiento cheese. It’s a comfort food from my childhood, one that I don’t see very often and don’t make at home mainly because Casey hates pimiento cheese (and he calls himself a southerner). Virginia’s Pimiento Cheese Sandwich on Texas Toast was jaw-smackin’ good and paired with the most drool-icious blue cheese coleslaw. If anyone out there has a recipe for this coleslaw, please let me know! I couldn’t even tell you what anyone else ordered because I was up to my elbows in pimiento euphoria.

We grabbed dessert at Cupcake. This is the cutest store ever which specializes in made-from-scratch, you guessed it, cupcakes. They have 32 different flavors and serve up nine of those flavors daily. Our group sampled the chocolate peanut butter, red velvet, and chocolate chip cheesecake. I really wanted to try the pina colada, but it wasn’t on the menu that day.

With our bellies at maximum capacity, we crossed the street to go to Three Dog Bakery. Since I was going to be away from home for such a long period, I wanted to send some goodies back to Dixie Belle. Her package included a few Scottie’s Biscotti, Puppermint Patties, and Carob Chip Cookies. You can just save me the speech on how spoiled our dog is.

We got our seafood fix at Fleet Landing. I tried the sea scallops in lemon butter sauce…not my absolute favorite; however, my mom tried their shrimp and grits which was prepared very nicely.

We were pressed for time on Sunday morning, so we didn’t get a chance to stop by Hominy Grill for brunch. I don’t know about you, but an hour wait didn’t really appeal to me. Instead, we hit Camille’s Sidewalk Café which was surprisingly refreshing. The food was simple and good and the coffee rocked my world. I was sad at the thought that this may be my one and only opportunity to eat at Camille’s, but then I discovered that there’s one in Arlington and in DC! Guess I won’t need to start a franchise after all.

What’s that? You want to know how the race went? I had a PB for the 10K finishing in 1:05:28. While I didn’t reach my goal for this race (60 minutes), I did shave about five minutes off of my previous time. Not bad, considering the humidity was unreal and I was struggling a lot more than anticipated. Note to self: When you average a 10 minute mile, don’t think that you can sustain a pace of 8:57 just because your friend, Mr. Adrenalin, is sitting on your shoulder. Casey finished in 51:53, my dad finished in 1:05:28 (notice a similarity? thank goodness parents show pity on their children), our friend Blythe finished in 1:04:07 (oh, and friends show pity too).

Comments»

1. Travel Vacations - April 23, 2008

Well, that’s certainly a more interesting than mine, lol! Sounds like you had a good time, though.


Leave a Reply

