jump to navigation

Flashback May 16, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in General, TV/Movies.
trackback

Woke up this morning and took my shower.  Slid into my two-tone Umbro shorts and topped it with a hypercolor t-shirt.  Laced up my LA Gear Brats. Threw my slap bracelet around my wrist. My bangs looked great with the spray of some Aqua Net. Added the final touch of a scrunchie in my hair and some Wet ‘n Wild glitter gloss on my lips. I wanted to make sure that I had all The Right Stuff. I was ready to get Hangin’ Tough with my gal pals. Casey looked at me as I was walking out the door and said, “Please Don’t Go Girl.” I said, “You know how I roll…Step By Step.” I gave myself one more look in the mirror, practiced my dance, and out the door I went. It was gonna be a great day, May 16, 1988. WHAT!?!?!?!?

Oh, thank goodness, it was all just a dream. I flip on the Today Show and there they are…NKOTB. Holy Cow, what year is it?! I check a calendar. It’s 2008! What are the New Kids doing on the Today Show? Oh, promoting their new album, Summertime. Can you say deja vu?!

Next thing you know Kelly Taylor will be on a 90210 spin off. What? Not that too! My world is spiraling out of control!!

Comments»

1. houndstooth1 - May 19, 2008

Ha! Too funny. As I said to my husband “New Kids on the Block? Try New Kids Been Around the Block”.

2. Tiffany - May 19, 2008

I just happened to watch the Today Show on Friday too. My reaction was similar, though I must admit to once owning a jean jacket with an enormous Joey McIntyre button and various other NKOTB relics. I also once recorded my own version of “The Right Stuff.”

3. smooregasbord - May 19, 2008

Well, if it makes you all feel a little better, I went to see them in concert at Furman University in 1990. At one point, I looked like a raving looney screaming and crying their names out!


Leave a Reply

