jump to navigation

I Heart Arnel June 6, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Music.
trackback

I’ve been a long time fan of Journey. With hits like Faithfully, Don’t Stop Believin’, Send Her My Love, and (my personal fave) Lights (a tribute to my favorite city), what’s not to love?! With the departure of lead singers Steve Perry, Steve Augeri, and Jeff Scott Soto, how was a girl gonna get her Journey fix? Enter Journey’s new lead singer, Arnel Pineda. A native of the Phillipines, Arnel was discovered on YouTube while singing with his cover band, The Zoo. I know what you’re thinking, “How can a dude from the Phillipines rival the sound of Stevel Perry?” Don’t ask me how, just know that he does. Arnel’s voice is unbelievable and if you close your eyes, you’d think Steve was singing right there in front of you. Arnel also does a mean version of Roxanne and Message in a Bottle from The Police. You can see more videos of his cover band here. Rock on, Arnel!!

Comments»

1. Mandy - June 6, 2008

I soooo agree with you on this one. It is uncanny how much he sounds like Steve Perry!! Love him!!!

2. Nicole - June 7, 2008

Girl, I LOVE Journey and I totally agree that Arnel is amazing! He was on Ellen the other day and I couldn’t believe the voice coming out of that guy! Rock on Arnel!!

3. Tiffany - June 9, 2008

I saw that on Sunday Morning (I think?) last weekend. He was unbelievable! At first the whole story seemed a little strange, but once I heard his voice I could see why they selected him.

4. houndstooth1 - June 10, 2008

Oh, the power ballad days! How I wished I were Sherry. BTW, I saw Adele on the Today Show this morning, and wow! Just wow.

5. smooregasbord - June 10, 2008

Adele rocks! I’m so glad that you got to hear her. Her voice is phenomenal and there is not one bad song on her entire CD.


Leave a Reply

