jump to navigation

Southern Dictionary: Meat-n-Three June 10, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Food, General.
trackback

When we first moved to the DC area, I searched for a good meat-n-three restaurant.  I got a lot of strange looks when I threw that term out there, so allow me to break it down for you.  A meat-n-three is what I call southern comfort food.  It is the meat of your choice served with three sides of your choice.  In this area, Cracker Barrel is about as close as you get (although a true southerner knows that CB is not a REAL meat-n-three establishment). Typically, these restaurants are family owned, know how to make a good biscuit, offer sweet tea (the real stuff), and know that pork, mac & cheese, and collards are staples in any good southerner’s diet.  In addition, banana pudding or some type of cobbler is always offered as a dessert.

There is a website that you can check out which shows you local meat-n-three restaurants broken down by state. Thank goodness someone else out there appreciates the importance of locating these types of establishments. Flavors Soul Food located in Falls Church, VA, is listed on this site. I have heard great reviews about this place and I look forward to trying it out!

Comments»

1. Beth Camp - June 10, 2008

We’ll try that out with you. One of my favorite things about the Meat-n-three is that Mac and Cheese is classified as a vegetable. Load me up!

2. houndstooth1 - June 10, 2008

Take this with a grain of salt because it’s coming from a Yankee…Hank’s Oyster Bar has a meat and 2 special each night. Ray’s the Steaks in VA comes very close to this with side included with the steaks (I’m almost positive..plus they will give you extra sides if you’re taking home a doggie bag).
Dixie Bones adds 2 sides as well. Great bbq, fried catfish and pies!

3. smooregasbord - June 10, 2008

Beth – Sounds like a plan! We’ll have to set a date.

4. smooregasbord - June 10, 2008

Thanks for the recommendations. A coworker of mine has mentioned Dixie Bones to me before. He’s from Kentucky and gave me mixed reviews on their sides. I’d still like to try it; now I just need to figure out how to convince my husband to go south on I-95! I think I may have already pushed my luck making him drag me to the new Wegmans.

5. Tiffany - June 10, 2008

Maybe I am too much of a midwesterner to know a real southern restaurant. . . what about Southside in Alexandria (just south of Old Town). Between their drunken potroast, bbq ribs, and collards I always feel like it’s a real southern meal.

6. smooregasbord - June 10, 2008

I’m a fan of Southside 815, but it definitely doesn’t classify as a meat-n-three. This is for a multitude of reasons, but ranked high on that list is the fact that they serve kale as ‘southern greens’. Kale!!! They do have good succotash…I’ll save that definition for a later date for those who don’t know what it is.

7. houndstooth1 - June 11, 2008

That does it! I’m making greens today!
Sorry to hear about the bad sides at Dixie Bones. When I went, it was a highlight. The mac n cheese and collards were fantastic. Come to think of it..the cornbread was quite good too. It’s really not far…and you don’t need to go I-95, so there’s your out! Go down Jeff-Davis hwy.
http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&dq=dixie+bones+loc:+Woodbridge,+VA&daddr=13440+Occoquan+Rd,+Woodbridge,+VA+22191&geocode=9274159097533354414,38.659316,-77.250575&ll=38.659316,-77.250575&iwstate1=dir:to&iwloc=A&f=d

8. smooregasbord - June 11, 2008

My motto is that good taste rests on the tastebuds of the consumer…or something like that! I take other’s opinions to heart, but I never give anything a bad review that I haven’t tried myself.

For example, those carmelitas that you recommended from Susie’s Cookies at the Kingstowne Market. We bought some along with her Apple Pie Oatmeal Cookies. One word…AWESOME!!!


Leave a Reply

