jump to navigation

Hey Coral, Cut Me Some Slack June 20, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Beauty, Eco/Green.
trackback

I am white. No, I don’t mean I am caucasian. I mean I’m a chalkasian…as in my skin resembles the color of chalk. You know that guy Powder? Well, he and I could totally be BFF with our skin tone! When I am at the beach, Casey’s family ridicules me for wearing SPF 70, and even with that kind of protection I can still get burned. If they made SPF 100 or even SPF 1000, I’d stockpile it! As a kid, I lived at the pool. My hair was practically white, my body was brown, and my nose was crusty red…from how badly it stayed sunburned. Now they do those scans that can show how much sun damage your skin has received. I don’t need to visualize what I already know to be true. This is why I take such care to minimize getting burned. I was a child then. I’d like to think that I’ve gained some wisdom over the years.  In typical fashion, I digress.

As if I needed something else to worry about at the beach, now it appears that my sunblock is causing coral bleaching. WHAT?! I’ve recently read several articles that discuss how certain ingredients in sunblock elevate the virus levels in the water thereby killing the algae that live on coral.

The alternative is to use all natural, chemical free sunscreens.  There are several brands out there that offer these types of sunscreens: Alba, Burt’s Bees, California Baby, Dr. Hauschka, and Nature’s Gate. Most can be found at stores like Whole Foods. If there’s not a store in your area that carries these brands, then check out drugstore.com to find these and other natural sun care options.

As for me, I’m going to finish using my current sunblock. Then, I’ll try to brave the trial and error with some of these natural brands.

Comments»

1. Tiffany - June 20, 2008

That’s interesting; I hadn’t heard about that. I do know that some of the chemicals in sunblock are not good for your skin. Do you ever read the Ideal Bite? You can subscribe to have daily environmental tips emailed. This one was on sunscreen, and it offers some tips and products: http://www.idealbite.com/tiplibrary/archives/complexion_countdown/.

2. smooregasbord - June 20, 2008

Hey Tiffany! Thanks for the link to Ideal Bite. I signed up for their daily tip and it looks like they’ll be starting a local ‘bite’ for DC in October.


Leave a Reply

