jump to navigation

No Shame in Addiction June 27, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Food.
trackback

Those of you who know me, know that I have a coffee addiction. A day without coffee may as well be a day without air. It’s not just the caffeine that gets me going. It’s the warmth, aroma, and quite frankly, the sheer deliciousness. Most folks can’t deny that the smell of freshly roasted coffee is invigorating. Of course, put it on to brew and I’m likely to pass out from delight.

The last time I mentioned coffee with this much adoration was when we took our trip to Hawaii in January. Lorie Obra’s Rusty’s Hawaiian coffee was heaven. Although, I have yet to be able to duplicate the brew quality that we received at Alan Wong’s.

I’m always on the lookout for good coffee. I like my coffee strong and most days I like it flavored. Casey is a fan of Seattle’s Best Hazelnut Cream. But I like the idea of getting something unique and supporting local businesses. While Connecticut isn’t exactly local to those of us in the DC area, it is on the east coast which meets my minimal criteria for classifying as local. I discovered Redding Roasters through one of my other addictions, Etsy. Bill O’Keefe first opened Redding Roasters in early 2004 in Bethel, CT. Of course, he was roasting coffee long before that and the quality in aroma and flavor show. We ordered a 1 lb bag of the Brazil Santos coffee in Amaretto Royal. I opted for the espresso grind since I lean more towards Italian coffees like Illy. We were NOT disappointed!! The flavor was amazing and we were able to brew the perfect cup every time….to the point that we’re all out. I’ve just placed another order, but this time we’re going to try the Caramel Cream. If neither of those flavors tingle your taste buds, don’t worry because there are 26 different flavors to choose from…and you can mix multiple flavors for a custom blend. The Roaster also offers organic, fair trade, and shade grown varieties as well. The best part is that the coffee is typically roasted to order ensuring that you get the freshest coffee around!  Drink up!

Comments»

1. Tiffany - June 27, 2008

Mmm. . . I too am a coffee adict. Speaking of, I just visited Grape and Bean last weekend; thanks for the recommendation!

2. Scott - June 29, 2008

well said Italian Coffee is truly amazing And thanks for putting up your reviews too..

3. Bill (theoraster - July 4, 2008

Wow!
Thanks for the great review… Its good for my little guy ego (being in a small struggling but growing business) to be appreciated and to have you speak out about it.
I am happy you enjoyed the coffee and was pleasantly surprised taking your call.
Thanks again and I hope to hear from you again!
Bill
theroaster


Leave a Reply

