jump to navigation

The Doctor is In July 22, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town, General.
trackback

I love Good Morning America. I find that watching GMA is a learning experience. Although, my husband would tell you that some of the things I learn tend to lean on the side of bizarre. That being said, the nugget that I took away from this morning’s show may take the cake in the bizarre category.

As I have said here before, I didn’t get my first pedicure until I was 29. I didn’t really care for it all that much. It wasn’t as comforting as I thought it would be…the scraping, poking, and cutting. All that could change with a few tiny carp. It’s the latest in pedicure treatments, having a bunch of garra rufa fish (aka doctor fish) nibble off the dead skin on your feet. These fish, from Turkey, have no teeth and can only survive off of the consumption of dead skin cells. This practice has been popular in Japan for years. Now it’s made its way to the States. Actually, I guess I could consider myself lucky because Yvonne Hair and Nail Salon located right here in Alexandria, VA, offers the Dr. Fish Pedicure. A fifteen minute dip in the tank runs approximately $35 and a 30 minute dip runs about $50. Based on customer reactions after a treatment, these doctor fish leave your feet feeling super soft. I’ll keep you posted if I decide to take the plunge! Read a related story here and see the doctor fish in action.

Comments»

1. Beth Camp - July 22, 2008

I’ll do it with you if you are up to it!

2. smooregasbord - July 22, 2008

I was already thinking the same thing!

3. Tiffany - July 23, 2008

Susan- I’ve heard of this before, but it kind of grosses me out. I’m not usually one to be squeamish. . . I’m impressed that you’re thinking about it!

4. Nicole - July 23, 2008

I’m so up for this! Just say when!! I saw this fish thing on “I Survived A Japanese Game Show”…I know, we watch it!! :o) And by the way, I ADORE GMA!! I feel like I know each of them personally but Diane Sawyer is my hero and Chris Cuomo is hysterical!!

5. smooregasbord - July 23, 2008

It sounds like a girls’ outing may be in the works!


Leave a Reply

