jump to navigation

The Office Fridge August 6, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Work.
trackback

I don’t know what the fridge looks like in your office, but the main fridge in our office is a petri dish. Not only that, but it’s always stuffed to maximum capacity. Last Thursday, I brought in a creme brulee rice pudding cup which I didn’t eat. Yesterday, I was hankering for an afternoon snack and went to get my pudding cup out of the fridge. I opened the door and there it sat right in front. I peeled back it’s foil top, dipped my spoon in, and took a bite. Cinnamon? What? This was not my pudding cup. I go back to the fridge and, after exploration deep into its abyss, there sat my lowly little creme brulee pudding cup. Holy flippin’ cow, I had eaten somebody else’s snack pak!! I chuckled with guilt as I sat there all alone in my office deciding what to do. I walked back into the kitchen with post-it note and tape in hand. The note read: “To Whom It May Concern: I accidentally ate your rice pudding cup thinking it was mine. I am SO SORRY! Please enjoy this creme brulee rice pudding cup in its place.” I got no response, but I was able to sleep like a baby last night with a clean conscience!

All of this got me thinking about the illustrious office fridge. I came across this link and got a good chuckle.

Comments»

1. Tiffany - August 7, 2008

You are so thoughtful to leave a note. This story reminds me of that William Carlos Williams poem “This is just to say,” although of course the fridge robbery in his poem was intentional.
This is Just to Say:
“I have eaten/ the plums/ which were in/ the icebox/ and which/ you were probably/ saving/ for breakfast/ forgive me/ they were delicious/ so sweet/ and so cold.”


Leave a Reply

