jump to navigation

VitaWhat August 12, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Food.
trackback

Casey has been on a tiny sweet kick for the past few weeks. Last week, he baked a golden butter recipe sheet cake with chocolate icing. I ate two pieces. Don’t get me wrong, it tasted delightful; however, I always feel guilty eating that stuff mainly because of the full stick of butter it requires and the trans fat in the icing. Trans fat and high fructose corn syrup are two things that I work very hard to keep out of our diets. Before anyone suggests that I make my own icing, I’ve been there and done that. It simply doesn’t taste as good or as creamy.

Sunday we headed to the grocery store. As we started down the baking aisle, Casey suggested that we make brownies this week. Sidebar: My husband has the metabolism of a hummingbird and typically doesn’t have to worry about what he eats…oh, and he runs 5 – 7 miles five days a week which also seems to help his cause. So I bear the burden alone when it comes to making sure that our family is eating healthy. We stand there staring at the baking mixes. He inevitably chooses a caramel turtle brownie which, I’m sure, has a bazillion calories and loads of fat. Then, out of the corner of my eye, I spy VitaBrownie mix. I have never tried anything from the VitaLicious brand, but I’ve seen and read several very positive reviews on their products. I also wasn’t familiar with their baking mixes. In our grocery store, most of the VitaLicious products are prepared (ie. brownies, muffins, etc) and housed in the freezer section because they do not contain any additives or preservatives. After much coercing, Casey caved in on the VitaBrownie mix. I made them last night and, to my surprise, they were quite tasty. The taste of the batter did give me pause, but they baked up nicely with a chocolatey taste and cakey texture. Now for the “per serving” nutritional stats…100 calories, 1.5 grams of fat, 8 grams of sugar, 7 grams of fiber, and 4 grams of protein. Not to mention, these brownies contain up to 50% of your daily value of vitamins (hence the name) like A, C, D, E, B6, B12, Biotin, and Folic Acid. Tastes good and is good for you…now that’s a winning combination.

P.S. If you decide to give these a try, I don’t want to give you the false perception that they will for one second compare to a caramel turtle brownie. Their is no substitue for full-on fat and sugar. Trust me, a southern girl knows…remember, I grew up with Crisco!

Comments»

1. Beth Camp - August 12, 2008

Really? Did you go to school together or just live in the same general vicinity?

2. Nicole - August 18, 2008

I’ve read about this Vita stuff on Hungry Girl but I didn’t know they sold them in stores! I’m gonna have to give them a try. And BTW, do you like the No Pudge? They are delish with PB chips! Tastes like peanut butter and chocolate cookie from Levain Bakery in NYC…hmmm. You MUST try those if you visit NY!

3. smooregasbord - August 18, 2008

Totally! If you like No Pudge, you will love VitaBrownies. I haven’t tried adding in PB chips to the No Pudge, but that sounds delish. We typically dressed them up like Rocky Road brownies with marshmallows, crushed walnuts, and chocolate chips on top….kind of defeats the purpose of No Pudge!

I had never tried their frozen stuff before because the thought of eating a frozen muffin didn’t really appeal to me. After enjoying the VitaBrownies, I bought some of the Blueberry Bran VitaTops at the store last night. I had one for breakfast this morning and it was incredibly moist and flavorful. I give them a 10!!!


Leave a Reply

