jump to navigation

Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder August 15, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Beauty.
trackback

As I get older, I notice things changing about my skin. For example:
1) while I may get 19 quatrazillion hours of sleep, I still have dark circles under my eyes;
2) I must be confused A LOT since I have not one, but two, significant wrinkles in between my eyes;
3) even though I may wear sunglasses that compare in size to Edna’s (see photo at right), I still squint in the sun thereby making my crow’s feet worse;
4) although I have fairly normal combination skin, if I change my moisturizer for say three days straight, I will break out like a prepubescent child who has just ran out of Proactiv. Apparently, my skin still thinks that it is 13 and will only allow the yellow stuff from Clinique to be rubbed on its precious surface.

I could drag this out for days, but I’ll spare you the torture. I am now jumping on the anti-aging bandwagon. I’m on the search for a great eye cream. So far, I’ve not been overwhelmingly impressed with anything. I’ve tried quite a few eye creams ranging from el cheapo to el steapo, and I still have a few on my list to try. Some work better than others, but nothing has made me say WOW, THIS IS IT! Here are some of the ones I’ve tried along with my rating of their performance. Keep in mind that what works for you, may not work for me and vice versa. Rating system: 1 star (suck in a jar) up to 5 stars (jackpot).
Hylexin, 1 star
DDF Erase Eye Gel, 2.5 stars
AVON Anew Alternative Intensive Eye Cream, 3 stars
Skin Effects Eye Effects Dual Action Under Eye Therapy, 3 stars
Benefit EyeCon, 3 stars
BeFine Eye Blossoms, 3.5 stars
Prescriptives Vibrant-C Brightening Eye Cream, 3.5 stars
L’oreal Skin Genesis Daily Treatment Eye Serum, 4 stars

I’m using the Loreal product currently and am fairly pleased.  There’s an eye cream by Aveeno and one by Murad on my list of “to try”.

As far as anti-wrinkle creams go, I just began that search and the jury is still out.  For those of you who may consider suggesting Botox, DON’T.  Hello!!!!!! That’s a needle full of toxin jabbed into your face! I do not like doctors and I do not like needles.  I will only subject myself to those things for necessary medical reasons…and even then, I procrastinate. To further clarify, in my world, wrinkles are not necessary medical reasons. Wrinkles are just God’s way of turning me into a human raisin.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

