jump to navigation

Southern Dictionary: Fixin’ To August 18, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in General.
trackback

This is a very common verb used in the south.  It typically refers to an action that is about to occur.  I never really thought much about using the term until I began my first job.  Mainly because I was always surrounded by other fine southerners who could appreciate this verb’s value.  I was helping put a report together and I said to my project manager, “I’m fixin’ to pull that info out of the database.”  I got this look like, “Huh?”  Granted, he’s totally from up North…you know, one of those yankees!

 

Comments»

1. houndstooth1 - August 19, 2008

I think I most associate this phrase with Paula Dean. She says it all the time. I think us Yankees say ‘gunna’ vs. clearly saying “I’m going to”, which is what I think ‘fixin to’ conveys.
Like–I’m gunna walk the dogs.
Ahem…not that I say it that way. I’ve been working on minimizing my Philly accent since highschool 😉

2. smooregasbord - August 19, 2008

“Gunna” is a good one. I love accents and I love all the random phrases that we say based on where we come from. You talking about Philly makes me think of that movie Invincible. Those were great accents!

3. houndstooth1 - August 19, 2008

Some of the actors on Cold Case do an OK Philly accent. Believe it or not, Rocky had a pretty good one! Especially those in the final Rocky (many were locals).
My accent was never pronounced to begin with, but give me a couple glasses of wine and the next thing you know I’m all “Yo’ Adrian” and “I need some wooder”..like that.

4. smooregasbord - August 19, 2008

OMG, “wooder”?! It’s getting to be too much for me to contain my laughter!

5. Beth Camp - August 19, 2008

I used to refer to “fixin’ to” as the “F-word” when I lived in Texas. Just do it, no need to tell me you are about to!

6. smooregasbord - August 20, 2008

Just because Texans said it, doesn’t mean you have to hate it! I think you know where I’m coming from.


Leave a Reply

