jump to navigation

Flavor Flav September 19, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town, Food.
trackback

Fortunately, I’m not talking about the rapper with the big clock dangling around his neck. I’m referring to the soul food restaurant Flavors located in Falls Church. We ventured out with a group of friends to find some good real southern cooking in Northern Virginia. I had read a review about Flavors in the Washington Post and we were dying to give it a try. Last Saturday night, I got to feast on fried catfish, collards, and mac & cheese. Collards, people…not kale, not seaweed, not chard…COLLARDS, the real southern green, the kind seasoned with a ham hock.  It was fantastic! There was sweet tea, sweet potato pie, BBQ, black-eyed peas, cabbage, potato salad. So far this is the closest thing to a meat ‘n three that I’ve seen up in these parts. Of course, the highlight for most was the fried chicken. It’s cooked to order and takes about 20 minutes to prepare, but the wait was well worth it.  I will go ahead and warn you that you will smell like fried chicken for at least 24 hours following a visit to Flavors.  It basically seeps into your pores!  I can say that the only thing that disappointed me was the absence of banana puddin’ on the menu.  I guess I can’t have my cake and eat it too!

If you want to read more about our outing and see a few pictures, then mosey on over to Nicole’s blog.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

