jump to navigation

Southern Dictionary: 1/2 and 1/2 September 26, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Family/Home, Food.
trackback

I bet you’re thinking, “Susan, coffee creamer is hardly southern.”

And I would come back and say, “I’m not talking about coffee creamer.”

In my great state (South Carolina, for those who don’t know) we have a lot of drive-in restaurants. My personal favorite is the Carolina Drive-In owned by a friend and fellow Wofford grad (Hey, Nick!!). My family and I have been loyal patrons of the Carolina since before solid food was part of my diet. My second favorite is the Palmetto Drive-In (mainly because they serve tater tots and a great Pink Lady), followed by The Beacon in Sparkle City aka Spartanburg, and Pete’s Drive-In over in Easley. These are not fancy restaurants and they are mostly known for great service, fantastic chili cheeseburgers, sweet tea, and 1/2 and 1/2. What is 1/2 and 1/2 you ask? It’s one half french fries and one half onion rings. So simple yet so tasty!! Don’t forget to ask for their ranch dressing…you need that for dipping.

P.S. If you don’t what a Pink Lady is, then I’ll save that for another entry.

Comments»

1. houndstooth1 - September 29, 2008

Love the southern dictionary! On Saturday, I was in Old Town for the farmers market when it started to rain while the sun was shining. I thought “the devil’s beating his wife”!

2. houndstooth1 - September 29, 2008

I love the sound of half n half–why choose when you can enjoy 2 great fried foods at one time!

3. smooregasbord - September 30, 2008

I couldn’t have said it better myself!

4. Tiffany - October 5, 2008

French fries and onion rings? That’s awesome; I can never decide between the two!


Leave a Reply

