jump to navigation

Sneak Peek November 2, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town.
trackback

Casey’s mom arrived on Thursday evening to spend a long weekend with us. As a surprise, Casey was able to get us a tour of the Capitol. If you’ve never been, I encourage you to write your senator or congressman to get a tour. It is incredibly educational and a lot of fun to see how our government works…or at least is supposed to. I’ve never been a history buff, unlike my husband, but it does give you a greater appreciation of our nation’s history. We got to walk down on the house floor, pass by Nancy Pelosi’s office, see the Old Supreme Court, and learn some wacky historical facts…it was well known that Jefferson and Adams did not like each other. If you look closely at Trumbull’s painting, The Declaration of Independence, you can see Jefferson standing on Adam’s foot. I love learning funny (and random) stuff like that!

As a surprise to all of us, our “guide” gave us a sneak peek of the Capitol’s new visitor center which doesn’t open to the public until December 2nd. We weren’t allowed to take any photos because they want to keep everything under wraps until the opening. We were shown an 18 minute film before touring the exhibition hall. I can’t say enough good things about the visitor center. You leave with much more appreciation, not just for our great country, but also for each individual state and how it all works together. While construction of the visitor center went well beyond the expected completion date and the original budget, the payoff is incredible. Just another reason why living in DC is so great!

See more photos in the Flickr sidebar.

Comments»

1. houndstooth1 - November 4, 2008

Very cool. Another DC thing I have to put on my list of things to do in DC because YOU LIVE THERE!! I swear, I’m gonna get better!!

2. smooregasbord - November 4, 2008

We always hold off on a lot of things until we have family come visit…otherwise living here and seeing it all the time would just make you burn out on everything!

3. bakerista - November 5, 2008

I was supposed to go last year during my senior year…but some “problem” students fixed that. :-/ I do plan to visit someday though. It’s so close and I don’t know why I have never been! I think it would be really neat. Maybe I should wait till this visitor center opens because that sounds extra exciting!


Leave a Reply

