jump to navigation

Go Fish! November 11, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town, Beauty.
trackback

dsc04473Q: What involves a bunch of girls screaming, giggling, and squirming?
A: A Dr. Fish Pedicure

Last night we had a Girls’ Night Out and decided to take the plunge and try the Dr. Fish Pedicure that I wrote about a few months ago. We ventured down Route 1 to Yvonne’s Hair and Nail Salon to dip our feet into a tank filled with garra rufa fish aka doctor fish. As I stated before, these Turkish fish have no teeth and live off the consumption of dead skin cells (i.e. they nibble the dead skin off your feet). I’m a big fan of GMA and Diane Sawyer assured me that I would only feel a slight tickling sensation. Diane, why did you mislead me?! Tickle? No, that’s not what I felt. It was more like the sensation you get when your feet fall asleep. I know that the textbooks say these Dr. Fish have no teeth, but I felt a couple of chomps every now and then. YIKES!

Dr. Fish 1Beth and Cindy were the bravest of the bunch meaning they didn’t scream like the rest of us. Of course, we all get a gold star for keeping our feet in the tank for the full fifteen minutes…AND…the promise is true, your feet are a whole lot softer! We had a blast and everyone should try it at least once. As for trying it again, the fish may be biting but I’m not.

To see more photos and video “foot”age, then check out Nicole’s blog.

Comments»

1. SoccerGirl - November 11, 2008

Oh, just your description gave me the creeps, I guess your faces in the pictures aren’t too exaggerated! I am impressed that you all tried it at least 🙂

2. Nicole - November 13, 2008

Oh girl, that was one crazy experience! I love how detailed you are in giving the background of those fish and everything. I think I just learned something…ha! I won’t be going back anytime soon though. :o)

3. smooregasbord - November 13, 2008

When I think back about it, my toes curl up just like Carolyn’s!!

4. Jenny - November 13, 2008

I don’t think I could handle it. I hate being tickled. You’re braver than I am!


Leave a Reply

