jump to navigation

Float Like a Butterfly, Sting Like a Bee December 4, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town.
trackback

boxing-08Or in my case, sink like a rock.  Casey and I signed up for a Boxing for Fitness class at our local rec center. The class met once a week for twelve weeks and last night was graduation. We had a blast, although I must say that I’m really not a fighter and my Round 2 video against Jen proves it. Good thing I live in Virigina because that state motto, Virginia is for lovers, is more my speed. We each boxed two rounds lasting two minutes each. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but those four minutes totally kicked my butt! I was dying during Round 1 against Raina (video coming soon). My arms felt like 100-pound lead weights. It was all I could do to just keep my arms going and try to block as many punches as I could. It felt like an out-of-body experience. You know, like one of those dreams where you try to scream but nothing comes out or you try to run but your legs won’t move. I have never had that feeling of not being able to control my body…specifically my arms. Casey died laughing while watching my video. I told him that I had obviously perfected a new move called the flyswat….just keep flailing your arms around in order to distract your opponent. One of my friends commented that I hit like a girl. Newsflash: I am a girl!  If there were an award for best prissy girl punch, I’m sure I would win.  That’s why I run…so I don’t have to throw a punch. You’ll just see me Scooby-dooing it out of there!

Comments»

1. adrienne - December 11, 2008

Wow! You go girl! Next pom wheat’s on me!


Leave a Reply

