jump to navigation

Pepe Le Pew Meets Madeleine December 10, 2008

Posted by smooregasbord in Food.
trackback

madeleinesEver since my parents got me this madeleine silicone mold, I’ve been dying to put it to use. I was feeling a little french-y (pronounced “fronch” like in the movie Better Off Dead) today and had all of the ingredients on hand, so I figured why not. 

Last year, I attended a cookie swap hosted by one of my neighbors. My favorite cookies brought to the party were madeleines made by one of our French neighbors, Edwige. They were delicious! I used her recipe to make my version substituting amaretto extract for the lemon extract listed in the recipe. I love their shell-shape and the powdered sugar makes me think of snow! They are cake-y and light and offer a nice break from some of the typical Christmas indulgences…like those Peppermint Crunch Junior Mints sitting on my desk.

Comments»

1. Tiffany - December 13, 2008

These look wonderful, Susan. I love madelines too, especially the cute shape. The amaretto extract sounds like a good culinary decision. 🙂

2. Nicole - December 15, 2008

Girl, when you gonna bring me some of those? Ha! Those look delish! I love madelines…mmm mmm good!

3. smooregasbord - December 16, 2008

We need to all get together for a post-holiday cookie swap of our own!


Leave a Reply

