jump to navigation

Here’s to Luck and Prosperity in 2009 January 1, 2009

Posted by smooregasbord in Family/Home, Food.
trackback

new-years-dinner-09In order to bring luck and prosperity in the New Year, southerners typically eat a meal that consists of black-eyed peas, collards, and cornbread.  Respectively, they represent coins, paper money, and gold.  This is a superstitious tradition that dates back to the Civil War.  These sides are typically served with pork which is also a symbol of prosperity in many cultures.  According to my research, “pigs are considered good luck because they root forward, symbolizing progress.” [source: blogher] The combination makes for one tasty meal where I get to enjoy my most favorite food of all, collards.

hot-fudge-brownie-cakeI also took this opportunity to try out a recipe that I read about in the January 2009 issue of Southern Living, the hot fudge brownie cake. It was delicious and not too overwhelmingly sweet…it just needed something extra.  There’s also a mocha version that I’d be willing to give a shot next go around.  A little coffee, in my book, makes everything better! 

Here’s wishing you a wonderful 2009 from our family to yours!

Comments»

1. Aunt Debbie - January 3, 2009

Thanks for the info!!!! I knew about the collards, but, I had forgotten the others. The pig stuff was interesting, I had no idea! So, here’s to the new year…… except for the dessert, we ate the same thing you did. Hope it works. Love you, Aunt Debbie

2. SoccerGirl - January 3, 2009

I will have to check out that hot fudge brownie cake recipe, sounds great. You should try this recipe from Cooking Light that I made for Christmas dinner: Hot Chocolate Fudge Cakes http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1860091

It was sooo yummy and goes perfect with ice cream. They say it makes 10 servings, but there’s no way, I could barely make 7, and of course since they’re in ramekins you know exactly what a serving size is!

3. SoccerGirl - January 3, 2009

oh and I used Dark Chocolate cocoa powder and Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate

4. grace - January 6, 2009

ya gots ta have your black-eyed peas!! and always, always include some brownie cake–yum! happy new year to you, susan!

5. smooregasbord - January 7, 2009

Sarah- I will definitely check those out. Dark chocolate and espresso powder…you know I’m all over that. And you just can’t go wrong with Ghiradelli!

Happy New Year, Grace! I hope you ate your share of black-eyed peas as well.

We’re all keeping our fingers crossed, Aunt Debbie! Love ya.


Leave a Reply

