jump to navigation

Stonewall Kitchen January 7, 2009

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town, Food.
trackback

stonewallNow back to our regularly scheduled programming…
Prior to the new year, I was talking about the various vendors that we enjoyed at November’s MCES. Based on the crowd surrounding the Stonewall Kitchen booth, we weren’t the only fans there. I’ve yet to try one of their spreads, dips, or mixes that I didn’t like. I hold a deep disdain for celery, but if anyone could make me change my mind, it would have to be Stonewall. For those who know me, you know that’s saying a lot! The quality of Stonewall products is just that good.

Their jam selection is endless and endlessly delicious. Looking for a two-second appetizer, take a block of cream cheese and cover it with their Hot Pepper Jelly, serve with Wheat Thins or Chicken in a Biskit crackers. YUM! Spread their Mimosa Brunch Jam on a buttermilk biscuit for a treat reminiscent of my southern childhood. The Holiday Jam was a favorite in the Moore household this year, but you’ll have to wait until the next holiday season to pick up a jar of this cranberry-orange delight (or check out the sale items).  They seem to offer everything under the sun.  I especially like their packaging. The labels look to be handwritten giving me the feeling that I’ve brought home some of my Aunt Emma’s homemade goodies. 

Stonewall is based in York, Maine; however, you can find their products at many grocery and specialty food stores.  If you happen to live in the DC area, you can head over to National Harbor and check out their newest company store….but you better wait until payday!

Comments»

1. grace - January 8, 2009

i have to say, two of my favorite things in this world are pepper jelly and chicken in a biskit crackers. i haven’t had the crackers for years, but they are delicious! i’ll be on the lookout for them on my next grocery trip. 🙂

2. smooregasbord - January 8, 2009

Good luck! They can prove difficult to track down…at least in these parts.

3. Sara Beth - January 16, 2009

Have you tried the Roasted Garlic and Onion Jam? It is awesome! Especially using the cream cheese recipe you talked about. Another recipe I saw for it was to put equal parts cream cheese and goat cheese in a food processor, combine it, and then shape it and put the jam on top of that. YUM!

4. smooregasbord - January 16, 2009

No, but that sounds good! Goat cheese is one of my favorites, so I definitely will need to give that recipe a try.


Leave a Reply

