jump to navigation

Namasté January 8, 2009

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town.
trackback

Since last summer, and by way of my friend Beth’s introduction, I’ve been taking regular fitness classes at our local rec center. Classes are less expensive than our gym membership and the people are way more friendly. The class schedule changes every quarter which gives me the opportunity to try new things. I started with a crew class. It was a great total body workout, but like running on a treadmill, it can get to be a little monotonous. Next up was boxing for fitness. Well, you all saw how that played out. This quarter I’m taking on hatha yoga. Tonight was my first class and, well, I l-o-v-e-d it. Along with the other classes that I’ve already mentioned, I’ve also been taking pilates which I’ve held near and dear for some time now. More so than what I expected, yoga is quite similar yet more flowing. 

The point of this post was to say how much fun I had, but to also mention a few of my Christmas presents that I’ve put to use as a result.  I have a pointy tailbone and a pointy spine.  When I would do “rolling like a ball” (super fun, by the way) on my old mat, I could feel every bone dig into the wood floor. OUCH! To compensate, I would basically roll like a wobbly ball. Casey relieved all of that by giving me a new, extra squishy mat for Christmas. Santa knew I would need a fancypants bag for my fancypants mat and this was under the tree. Who knew Santa shopped at Etsy?! No wonder he’s so jolly!

Comments»

1. Tiffany @ The Garden Apartment - January 10, 2009

Happy New Year! I love your new yoga bag- how cute! I would be inspired to exercise just so I could tote that around with me.

2. Beth Camp - January 10, 2009

I’ll take Yoga with you when tax season is over. Only 14 more weeks!

3. smooregasbord - January 12, 2009

Sounds like a plan, Beth! We may have to check out Zumba too.

Tiffany- Trust me, it’s all about the clothes and accessories…anything to motivate me to get off my rump and exercise!


Leave a Reply

