jump to navigation

Alex and Belle March 9, 2009

Posted by smooregasbord in Around Town.
trackback

paula-sullivan_bald-eagleFriday I was stuck in a crapload of traffic on the GW Parkway. I look over to see folks on the side of the road armed with cameras and huge telephoto lenses. I’m thinking, “Are they seriously taking photos of the traffic jam?!” Clearly, I was having a moment of mental muddiness.  I turn my head in the direction that their lenses are pointing to see a huge bald eagle perched just above her nest.  A nest that appears to be the size of a coffee table wedged in a tree on the edge of Belle Haven Country Club’s Golf Course.  These two eagles have been dubbed Alex and Belle and are currently incubating eggs that were laid early last week. You can see amazing photos here and here.  I got a chance to see them several times over the course of the weekend. With names like Alex and Belle, I feel like I’m part of my own little Disney love story. Photo Source: Paula Sullivan.

Comments»

1. houndstooth1 - March 17, 2009

Thanks for posting about this. I’m assuming that I saw one of these eagles fly right over my house a month ago. It was a gorgeous, clear-blue sky day and I couldn’t believe my eyes! I saw a photo of the eagle the next day in the WaPo. I might have to take a ride over to see them!

2. Tiffany @ The Garden Apartment - March 19, 2009

Great post, Susan! I have been sitting in that traffic every morning for the last few weeks, but I have to say it’s a great reason to sit in traffic when you drive past two beautiful bald eagles.
I’ve been meaning to go on flickr and search for photos of them; thanks for putting this up and making it so easy! Love the eagles.

3. grace - March 20, 2009

how cool! i’ve never seen an eagle first-hand. i have to say, however, those are some lame eagle names. 🙂

4. Aunt Debbie - April 7, 2009

I wanted to say I loved this post……Thanks Susan!


Leave a Reply

